01274 637425/07485317360


Severn Lodge Day Nursery and Pre-School

early years foundation stage (eyfs)

The EYFS is a framework for all settings that provide childcare for children aged 0-5 years, the EYFS sets out the standards for children's learning, development and care. There are 7 areas of learning 

The 3 prime areas of learning are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional (PSED)
  • Communication and Language (C&L)
  • Physical (P)

The 4 specific areas of learning are:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design  

Here at Severn Lodge we aim to provide a secure, caring and fun environment to help children progress in their development. We work alongside the EYFS to ensure all children's experiences help them learn and develop, each child is allocated a key worker that will cater for their individual needs and plan activities based on their interests to support their development. When a child begins attending Severn Lodge they begin a learning journal, this will be used throughout a child's time with us to document their learning and development, parents are free to look at their own child/ren's learning journal at any time. 

Key Workers

 When a child begins attending Severn Lodge they will be given a key worker. This person will be responsible for building a relationship with your child and helping them settle into the nursery setting. Your child's key worker will also be responsible for observing your child and tracking their learning and development, then using this information to plan activities based on your child's individual interests to further learning and development. Your child's key worker will be the person that undertakes children's intimate care routines e.g changing nappies. 


In September 2021, the EYFS changed. For more information please see the PowerPoint below...